Marriage licenses may be obtained at the following offices in Stone and Taney Counties:

Taney County Courthouse
132 David Rd
Forsyth, MO 65653
Recorder's Office

Stone County Courthouse
108A E 4th St
Galena, MO 65656
Recorder's Office

How to Apply: The prospective husband and wife must both appear in person at the County Recorder's office.

When to Apply: 8am - 5pm, Monday through Friday (except legal holidays).

The License: There is no waiting period for a Marriage License in Missouri, but applicants must provide a current Driver's License, Passport or Visa as proof of identity. The Marriage License is valid for 30 days from the date of issuance and may be used anywhere within the state of Missouri.

Required Information on the license includes: birth date, social security number, full legal name, level of education, race, and date of the end of a previous marriage. Persons divorced less than 30 days may apply for a marriage license if they acknowledge, in writing, that they understand the divorce can be appealed or set aside within 30 days by the court of jurisdiction.

Both parties must sign an affidavit that all information is true and correct.

License Fee: A License Fee of $51 must be paid by cash or personal check at the time of application. No refunds are allowed.

What To Do: The Marriage License must be delivered to the member of the clergy, either active or retired and in good standing with any church or synagogue in the State of Missouri, who will perform your wedding ceremony. Marriages may also be solemnized, without compensation, by any presiding judge. The person performing the ceremony must complete the license, secure two witness signatures, and return it to the Recorder's Office (in the envelope provided) within 15 days after the wedding. The license permanently remains on file in the County Recorder's Office.

Qualifications: No distinction is made between resident and non-resident individuals. Blood relatives, down to and including first cousins, MAY NOT marry under the laws of the State of Missouri. Applicants (a male and female) must be 18 years of age to marry without parental consent. Persons between the ages of 15 and 17 may obtain a license with the consent of a parent or legal guardian. Parents or legal guardians must give consent in person (at the time of application) and have proper identification. If legal guardian is giving consent, a certified copy of guardianship papers must be presented. The custodial parent or legal guardian must also provide a birth certificate for the minor child.